Independent editorial · Updated 2026 No paid placements

Review · #8 in our ranking

CocoFax 2026

Budget-friendly online fax with broad compliance coverage

At a glance

CocoFax fits the shortlist when budget leads the decision. Light usage works best — under 60 pages a month. The triple-compliance angle is a real differentiator. But two catches matter. The BAA is request-based, not automatic. And eSign lives in the separate CocoSign product. Teams with heavier volume should look at iFax Plus. Strict compliance buyers should look at Fax.Plus Enterprise or Documo Solo.
CocoFax · CocoFax Inc.
Visit site

01 · Overview

Overview

CocoFax serves a reported 200,000+ individuals and companies with a portfolio that spans fax, electronic signature (CocoSign) and PDF editing (CocoDoc). The product family operates under one company but each tool sits on its own subscription.

Its position in the market is shaped by aggressive entry pricing — $4.99 a month for the annual Lite plan with 60 pages. The compliance footprint is broad in marketing: HIPAA, GDPR and Canada's PHIPA all appear on the page.

Data centre location is not disclosed on official CocoFax pages; the company markets ISO 27001 alignment. The platform integrates well with Google Workspace, Microsoft and Slack. The web app is modern and the mobile clients work on iOS and Android across every plan. A 30-day money-back guarantee replaces a traditional free trial.

02 · Features

Key features

What ships in the plan — verified directly against the provider's published feature list.

Core fax features

  • Send and receive faxes from web, mobile, and email
  • International faxing to 180+ countries
  • Free local or toll-free number on every plan
  • Real-time delivery notifications
  • Custom cover sheets
  • Free 10-page trial fax without a credit card

Collaboration

  • Admin panel with team management (Business+)
  • Label management and blacklist (Business+)
  • Multiple fax recipients (Premium+)
  • 2FA enforcement (Business+)

Integrations

  • Google Workspace (Gmail, Drive, Docs)
  • Microsoft Office
  • Slack
  • Chrome extension
  • CocoFax API (Enterprise)
  • Email-to-fax via @cocofax.net

Supported platforms

  • Web app
  • iOS
  • Android
  • macOS
  • Windows
  • Email-to-fax
  • Chrome extension

03 · Pricing

Pricing

Pricing last verified against the official pricing page on June 21, 2026.

Plan Monthly Annual Pages / month HIPAA + BAA
Lite

Overage $0.20 per page.

$7.99 /mo $4.99 /mo 60 Not included
Basic

Overage $0.10 per page.

$12.99 /mo $9.99 /mo 200 Not included
Premium Most popular

Adds 24/7 support, number porting, multiple recipients, Slack/Google/Microsoft integrations. Overage $0.08 per page.

$19.99 /mo $16.99 /mo 400 Not included
Business

Admin panel, 5 team seats, 2FA enforcement, blacklist and label management. Overage $0.06 per page.

$29.99 /mo $24.99 /mo 1,200 Included
Enterprise

Custom volume and CocoFax API access.

Contact sales Custom Included

04 · Strengths and trade-offs

Strengths / Weaknesses

Strengths

  • Lowest entry price in the category at $4.99/month
  • Triple compliance positioning: HIPAA, GDPR, PHIPA
  • iOS and Android apps included on every plan
  • ISO 27001 alignment claimed
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Free 10-page trial without a credit card
  • Chrome extension and broad integrations

Weaknesses

  • Lite plan capped at 60 pages — too small for most teams
  • BAA is request-based, not automatic
  • No independently audited SOC 2 published
  • eSignature requires the separate CocoSign product
  • 24/7 support only from Premium plan up
  • Number porting only from Premium plan up
  • Footer copyright shown as 2022 — updates are not loudly signalled

05 · Security and compliance

Security and compliance

Per CocoFax's own HIPAA page: 256-bit AES at rest with 128-bit AES used in transit (note: this is weaker than the industry-norm 256-bit TLS). ISO 27001 alignment claimed. Data centre location not disclosed on official CocoFax pages — earlier 'Swiss data centres' claim could not be substantiated from cocofax.com sources.

Certification Status Note
HIPAA Yes BAA available on request for business users. Verify directly with CocoFax before transmitting PHI.
GDPR Yes
PHIPA Yes Ontario PHIPA coverage. Recommended for Canadian healthcare.
PCI DSS Yes
ISO 27001 Yes
Cloud Security Alliance Yes
SOC 2 Type 2 Not published

06 · Customer support

Customer support

Email support
Available
Live chat
Available

24/7 live chat on Premium plan and above.

Phone support
Not available
Knowledge base
Available

07 · Who it suits

Best for

Solo professionals, freelancers, small offices and price-sensitive teams that need light-volume online fax with HIPAA, GDPR or PHIPA on the upper plans.

The Business plan adds an admin panel, five team seats, 2FA enforcement and label and blacklist management. That is a reasonable package for a small clinic or law firm with PHI exposure — provided buyers verify the BAA path directly before sending sensitive documents.

Not ideal for

High-volume operations. The Lite plan caps at 60 pages with a steep $0.20 per-page overage. Organisations that require a published independent SOC 2 or HITRUST audit will not find one for CocoFax.

Any workflow that depends on a built-in eSignature without a second subscription. CocoSign is a sister product on a separate contract — not bundled with CocoFax.

08 · The verdict

Verdict

CocoFax fits the shortlist when budget leads the decision. Light usage works best — under 60 pages a month. The triple-compliance angle is a real differentiator. But two catches matter. The BAA is request-based, not automatic. And eSign lives in the separate CocoSign product. Teams with heavier volume should look at iFax Plus. Strict compliance buyers should look at Fax.Plus Enterprise or Documo Solo.

09 · Frequently asked

Frequently asked questions

01 Is the $4.99 price real?

Yes — $4.99 per month is the annual promotional price for the Lite plan with 60 pages (billed $59.99/year up-front). Monthly billing for the same plan is $9.99. Overage on Lite is $0.20 per page.

02 Does CocoFax sign a BAA?

CocoFax states that a BAA is available on request for business users. Confirm the agreement before transmitting any protected health information, as there is no independently audited SOC 2 or HITRUST report publicly available.

03 Does CocoFax include eSignature?

Not within CocoFax itself. eSignature lives in a sister product called CocoSign with its own subscription. Buyers who need signing in the same workflow should compare against iFax, which bundles eSign on every paid plan.

Methodology

This review is built from data verified directly against the provider's official pricing page, security documentation, and feature lists. Where something is not clearly published, we label it 'not published' rather than inventing it. Compliance claims should be verified directly with the provider before transmitting PHI.